Record Details


Available copies

  • 2 of 2 copies available at Missouri Evergreen. (Show)
  • 1 of 1 copy available at Montgomery City Public.

Current holds

0 current holds with 2 total copies.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Montgomery City Public Library JF STA (Text) 31927000000515 Juvenile Fiction Available -

Record details

Content descriptions

Summary, etc.:
When Joplin finds an antique platter with a beautiful Dutch scene, she idly wishes for the girl painted on the platter to be her friendand the next day Joplin finds the girl in the garden, longing to go back to her seventeenth-century home.
Target Audience Note:
Ages 8-12.
4-6 Baker & Taylor
670L Lexile
Study Program Information Note:
Accelerated Reader AR MG 4.6 7 189555.
Subject: Friendship > Fiction.
Magic > Fiction.
Genre: Time-travel fiction.
Fantasy fiction.

Syndetic Solutions - Summary for ISBN Number 9780062423702
Joplin, Wishing
Joplin, Wishing
by Stanley, Diane
Rate this title:
vote data
Click an element below to view details:

Summary

Joplin, Wishing


A heartfelt and magical middle grade novel in the tradition of Tuck Everlasting and Bridge to Terabithia, about family, wishes, and the power of true friends to work magic. While cleaning out her reclusive grandfather's house, Joplin discovers pieces of a broken platter in a cookie tin. After having the platter repaired, Joplin wishes that she could both find a friend at school, and befriend the girl pictured in the platter. The next day, Joplin befriends a boy named Barrett, and also notices a girl outside her apartment. A girl who looks remarkably like the girl in the platter... The girl introduces herself as Sofie, and she has a terrible secret. Cursed to grant wishes for the owner of the platter for all of time, she has been trapped for centuries. Joplin and Barrett vow to help her, but freeing Sofie is more complicated than they could have imagined, and the three friends end up against a sinister foe who could put them all in terrible danger.

Additional Resources