Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



The Mill River recluse : a novel  Cover Image Book Book

The Mill River recluse : a novel / Darcie Chan.

Chan, Darcie. (Author).

Record details

  • ISBN: 9780553391879
  • Physical Description: pages cm
  • Publisher: New York : Ballantine Books, 2014.

Content descriptions

Summary, etc.:
"The sensational New York Times bestseller, The Mill River Recluse reminds us that friendship, family, and love can come from the most unexpected places. Perfect for fans of Maeve Binchy. Look for special features inside. Join the Random House Reader's Circle for author chats and more. From the outside, Mill River looks like any sleepy little Vermont town where everyone knows everyone and people never need to lock their doors. There are newcomers for whom this appeals, from police officer Kyle Hansen and his daughter Rowen, who are starting over after heartache, to Claudia Simon, the schoolteacher who is determined to reinvent herself. But on closer inspection, there are those in Mill River--including a stealthy arsonist, a covetous nurse, and a pilfering priest--who have things they wish to hide. None more than the widow Mary McAllister, who for the past sixty years has secluded herself in her marble mansion overlooking the town. Most of the residents have never even seen the peculiar woman. Only the priest, Father O'Brien, knows the deep secrets that keep Mary isolated--and that, once revealed, will forever change the community. Praise for The Mill River Recluse "[Darcie] Chan's sweet novel displays her talent. A comforting book about the random acts of kindness that hold communities together."--Kirkus Reviews "A heartwarming story."--Examiner.com "A real page-turner."--IndieReader"-- Provided by publisher.
Subject: Widows > Fiction.
Secrecy > Fiction.
Families > Fiction.
Cities and towns > Fiction.
Genre: Psychological fiction.

Available copies

  • 8 of 9 copies available at Missouri Evergreen. (Show)
  • 0 of 1 copy available at Montgomery City Public.

Holds

  • 0 current holds with 9 total copies.
Show Only Available Copies
Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Montgomery City Public Library F CHA (Text) 31927000005310 Adult Fiction Checked out 06/17/2022


Additional Resources