Record Details


Available copies

  • 47 of 51 copies available at Missouri Evergreen. (Show)
  • 1 of 1 copy available at Montgomery City Public.

Current holds

0 current holds with 51 total copies.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Montgomery City Public Library JF Spi (Text) 31927000015066 Juvenile Fiction Available -

Record details

Content descriptions

General Note:
Publisher, publishing date and paging may vary.
Summary, etc.:
Even though his classmates from first grade on have considered him strange and a loser, Daniel Zinkoff's optimism and exuberance and the support of his loving family do not allow him to feel that way about himself.
Target Audience Note:
710L Lexile
Study Program Information Note:
Accelerated Reader AR MG 4.3 5 59382.
Subject: Self-acceptance > Juvenile fiction.
Families > Juvenile fiction.
Schools > Juvenile fiction.
Mark Twain Award nominee, 2004-2005 > Juvenile literature.

Syndetic Solutions - Summary for ISBN Number 9780060540746
Loser
Loser
by Spinelli, Jerry
Rate this title:
vote data
Click an element below to view details:

Summary

Loser


From renowned Newbery-winning author Jerry Spinelli comes a powerful story about how not fitting in just might lead to an incredible life. This classic book is perfect for fans of Gordon Korman and Carl Hiaasen. This middle grade novel is an excellent choice for tween readers in grades 5 to 6, especially during homeschooling. It's a fun way to keep your child entertained and engaged while not in the classroom. Just like other kids, Zinkoff rides his bike, hopes for snow days, and wants to be like his dad when he grows up. But Zinkoff also raises his hand with all the wrong answers, trips over his own feet, and falls down with laughter over a word like "Jabip." Other kids have their own word to describe him, but Zinkoff is too busy to hear it. He doesn't know he's not like everyone else. And one winter night, Zinkoff's differences show that any name can someday become "hero." With some of his finest writing to date and great wit and humor, Jerry Spinelli creates a story about a boy's individuality surpassing the need to fit in and the genuine importance of failure. As readers follow Zinkoff from first through sixth grade, it becomes impossible not to identify with and root for him through failures and triumphs. The perfect classroom read.

Additional Resources